Author Topic: customizing reports, a couple of difficulties.  (Read 5179 times)

topcatarg

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
customizing reports, a couple of difficulties.
« on: September 10, 2009, 05:53:40 am »
Hello.

we are customizing some reports to display it like we use to do in our organization. For that case, we almost have it ready, but we saw a little problems that doesn't seems very complicated but we can't solved them.

1. We want to put a name for the report on the front page. How we can customized it so it can be taken for a property on the package?
2. Is there a way to add a revision history to packages or elements so we can print that out.
3. Every time we add a TOC to the master document, our header/footer messed up. And when we correct that, our TOC dissapear. Also is there a way to build a TOC without adding titles to the pages (once we removed the titles, the TOC dissapear).
4. Is there a way to add more info to the reports besides adding a doc artifact and writting on it (about info not presents on diagrams or artifacts).

Thanks for reading.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13288
  • Karma: +557/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: customizing reports, a couple of difficulties.
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2009, 04:07:14 pm »
My experience with the build-in report generators in UML Case tools it that you quickly get almost what you want, but never really get there.
If it is really important for you to get the report exactly how you want it then I suggest you write your own report generator.
I've done so in the past on several UML tools (Rational Rose, Mega and EA) and although it is quite a bit of work (10-20 md) it pays off in the end because you can control every little aspect of the report and get it exactly as you want it.

Geert

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: customizing reports, a couple of difficulties.
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2009, 08:32:36 pm »
FWIW...

I think Geert is right on the mark here.

I too have gone through this a few times. In each case I (or we, depending on the size and scope of the effort) have stopped when the results satisfied the requirements at that time.

Every single time the effort seemed more daunting at the outset than it turned out to be. And every single time the results far exceeded what we would have been able to do with EA.

As Geert also points out, this is not really a flaw (or limitation) of EA. The same pattern is common in UML (and other) tools with packaged report generators. Fortunately EA is one of those tools where you can create extensions to generate output.

David
No, you can't have it!

topcatarg

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: customizing reports, a couple of difficulties.
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2009, 10:39:53 pm »
Thanks guys for your answers.

Now, how do we do that?? I need to build a plug in for EA or just make an outside program that reads the database and get the data I need from there?

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13288
  • Karma: +557/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: customizing reports, a couple of difficulties.
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2009, 10:48:26 pm »
You definitely want an addin for EA.
Going directly to the database will get you into trouble very soon :o
Besides, I guess you might also need diagrams, which are not available from the database.

Geert

Dermot

  • EA Administrator
  • EA User
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: customizing reports, a couple of difficulties.
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2009, 04:27:30 pm »
In answer to your questions:
1. Instead of setting the top document as a Master Document - leave the Master document - Tagged Value: RTFtemplate - option blank. In the first Model Document use the Package section (no child packages) and set the Package name on your header page (plus any Tagged Values - like author, company etc..
Alternately a recent build includes the option to set fields for "Project Constants" this can be set for the title etc.
2. I assume you are refering to a table "Revision history" - best to keep a Linked Document (with these tables) on the Root package and report this along with the title.
3. Could you send through to suport an example of this.
4. Again Linked Documents on Packages can be used for this - rather than a Document Artifact.
If you do take to Geert and Midnights suggestions - there is VB 6 Automation code to write to MS Word SDK available as a starter - see:
http://www.sparxsystems.com.au/resources/developers/autint_vb.html
« Last Edit: September 16, 2009, 04:32:39 pm by Dermot »

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: customizing reports, a couple of difficulties.
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2009, 09:30:32 pm »
Dermot makes an excellent suggestion.

Using VBA in something like MS Word works remarkably well. For those who don't have access to a 'formal' development environment, or don't want to buy one, or don't like the thought of configuring something for distribution to a user community, this could be the ticket. Word (or other MS Office) applications are all over the place. You can use pretty much any version from 97 on.

Note that you will probably write your code in one document - a container for your program - but create another document ax the target for your report output. This ensures that your report does not contain any code; report recipients with macro protection turned on (the default) will thank you.

The nice thing about using VBA is that it is a really lightweight environment. You should be able to pretty much everything you need, though sometimes it will take a bit more work. Creating a high end 'user interface' can be a challenge too, but if you reach this point in an add-in you should be considering a more robust approach anyway.

David
No, you can't have it!

topcatarg

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: customizing reports, a couple of difficulties.
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2009, 09:52:32 pm »
Thanks Dermot and Midnight for your answers..
I'm already trying my add-in in C#, I'm a formely developer  ;). (That's why there is another thread with question about add-in).

Dermot how can I send to you the example you need?? I will try again the problem (We where two builds behind from you), and if it solved I will let you know, but how do we send it??


Dermot

  • EA Administrator
  • EA User
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: customizing reports, a couple of difficulties.
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2009, 05:00:17 pm »
Send an email to [email protected] or see the support link 'Report a Bug' at the bottom of this page.

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: customizing reports, a couple of difficulties.
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2009, 08:16:32 pm »
Quote
... or see the support link 'Report a Bug' at the bottom of this page.
If you use the bug report option then you must use the version of the bug report for registered users, as the 'generic' bug report does not allow you to attach a file. [That appears to be the only important difference between the two.]

To get to the registered version you can start as Dermot suggests. When you see the bug report you should then click the appropriate link above the 'generic' form. That will take you to the registered version.

Instead of using the bug report link, you can also start by clicking the Registered Users link at the top of any forum (or Sparx site) page. There is a link to the registered version of the bug report in the first couple of paragraphs of the registered users page.
No, you can't have it!