Author Topic: Add and connect elements via query  (Read 1500 times)

vrieg

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Add and connect elements via query
« on: September 18, 2024, 09:40:13 pm »
Hello all,
is there a way to add elements and the connection to other elements via queries?
I am wondering if there is a way to add a graph to EA as known from working with graph databases.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13171
  • Karma: +549/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Add and connect elements via query
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2024, 02:23:29 am »
Yes that is technically possible, however I think it's a very bad idea.

There is an API that you can use to create elements and relations, which will guarantee the correct records to be created.
If you do it directly on the database, you'll have to take into account all the exceptions and oddities.
There's a pretty good chance of breaking things.

I only use direct database updates or inserts when there is no feasible alternative.
That can either be because the API doesn't support updating or creating a certain thing, or because I need to do so many that it would take days when using the API.

Geert

vrieg

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Add and connect elements via query
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2024, 12:21:34 am »
ok thanks understood.