Author Topic: How can I link screens to classes ?  (Read 5840 times)

JohnDoe

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • EA rocks !
    • View Profile
How can I link screens to classes ?
« on: May 19, 2004, 08:17:19 am »
Hi,
I have modelled a user GUI with some screens in a custom diagram. That applications consists of 15 screens, which are mostly panels and some editor areas. So what I want to do is, to design an editor that allows me to drag and drop objects from libraries, put them onto the editor areas and save all that stuff. So there is no "transactional" dialog route, because the user can choose randomly what objets to drag and what panels to use. Nevertheless, I want to create that software (Actionscript & Flash) using OO and UML to design and document all that stuff. My first idea was, to design that user interface first, because it let me easily discuss that layout together with my client instead of dozens of use cases.
You can see the design here:http://www.informatika-nova.de/informatika-nova/myEditor.JPG
No we have agreed about the "one page editor layout with several panels" and now I want to link every screen to his  corresponding class (which includes the buttons and texts as attributes).
Question: How can I  ...
a) link the screens from the screenDiagram to the corresponding classes in the classDiagramm
b) so that I can switch between both modells (e.g. clicking onto screen and getting to the corresponding class definition)
Thanks for any help !
Bernd
« Last Edit: May 19, 2004, 08:42:26 am by BerndWill »

thomaskilian

  • Guest
Re: How can I link screens to classes ?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2004, 08:38:58 am »
Probably you should link the classes via generalization association. The screen is the specialized class then.  In the relations window you are able to switch between both classes. (Not quite shure if this helps since it has nothing to do with automation  ???)

JohnDoe

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • EA rocks !
    • View Profile
Re: How can I link screens to classes ?
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2004, 01:24:16 pm »
Thanks for the idea.
But in my opinion, it is somewhat inefficient to switch to the neutral relationship matrix and see dozens of screen names and class names and a couple of "X"-signs somewhere in the matrix.
As you can see it in my hardcopy (see link above), I would like to to double click onto a panel or screen in my layout design to switch to the corresponding class definition. Every panel and every window in the design shall point to its own class definition.
Maybe I am totally wrong trying to design OO programs beginning with a screen design. But even if I set up a couple of use cases, it will come to screen design sometime and there I want my link from the screen towards the class or vice versa.
So what you suggest: How shall I procede ?

Thanks in advance
Bernd
« Last Edit: May 20, 2004, 01:25:07 pm by BerndWill »

thomaskilian

  • Guest
Re: How can I link screens to classes ?
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2004, 02:29:47 pm »
Hi Bernd,
I did not mean the relationship matrix but the relationship window. You can activate it from the views menu and place it somewhere where it is open while you navigate. You can see the relations for a selected object. Right-clicking enables you to navigate to the associated object.

Bruno.Cossi

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 803
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How can I link screens to classes ?
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2004, 06:05:29 pm »
Hi Bernd,

did you try using hyperlinks? You could place a hyperlink on the diagram with the screen, leading to your class diagram.

Bruno

JohnDoe

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • EA rocks !
    • View Profile
Re: How can I link screens to classes ?
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2004, 12:34:20 am »
>>>You can see the relations for a selected object.
>>>Right-clicking enables you to navigate to the
>>>associated object.

1.) I have found the relation window. Thanks. There I can see that connection in the relation window, but right click doesnt lead me to the class diagram, only to class definition popup. Any idea ?

2.) According to your description, I have dropped the screen into the class diagramm and connected both objects via association link.  But the screen now appears in both diagrams. Is there another chance to link them without having the screen in both diagrams ?

Thanks in advance
Bernd
« Last Edit: May 21, 2004, 12:38:13 am by BerndWill »