Author Topic: Out of memory while debugging in Visual Studio  (Read 12969 times)

Stanislaw Tristan

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Out of memory while debugging in Visual Studio
« on: September 25, 2015, 06:56:09 pm »
Hello,
I have downloaded your C# add-in sample (http://www.sparxsystems.com/bin/CS_Sample.zip) and converted it into VS 2015 solution (earlier I have tried in VS 2013 also).
When I start debug - the EA crashes with Out of memory error.
What is wrong?

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13241
  • Karma: +554/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Out of memory while debugging in Visual Studio
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2015, 08:41:15 pm »
There's another topic about that somewhere.
Search for "out of memory" using the top left search button.

Geert

Stanislaw Tristan

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory while debugging in Visual Studio
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2015, 09:05:32 pm »
Yes, I have found that post (http://www.sparxsystems.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?num=1439282399/0#0), but it is still not answered.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13584
  • Karma: +396/-301
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory while debugging in Visual Studio
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2015, 09:16:16 pm »
It is answered indirectly: does not happen with 2010. AFAIR 2013 is not supported (at least there had been many questions about when it would be supported).

q.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13241
  • Karma: +554/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Out of memory while debugging in Visual Studio
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2015, 10:33:30 pm »
If allowed in your environment you could use Sharpdevelop as well.
It it free, open source, and does more or less the same as VS (but requires less resources)
I use that for all my add-in development (in C#).

Geert

DarrenDickens

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory while debugging in Visual Studio
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2017, 10:13:42 pm »
I had this same issue so found this question and after reading gave a big sigh  :( since trying to get another tool (Sharpdevelop) past our IT department would be difficult.

Fortunately a bit more googling came across this webpage and it worked; I used the "We found an additional workaround/setting!" instructions. I can now use Visual Studio Express 2015 for Windows Desktop, EA 12.0.1214

http://blog.lieberlieber.com/2015/07/02/debugging-c-addins-with-enterprise-architect-12-and-visual-studio-2013/

Helmut Ortmann

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 967
  • Karma: +42/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory while debugging in Visual Studio
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2017, 11:57:19 pm »
Hi,

the described procedure also works for VS2017 and EA13.

Helmut
Coaching, Training, Workshop (Addins: hoTools, Search&Replace, LineStyle)

WarrenKenyon

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory while debugging in Visual Studio
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2017, 03:44:35 am »
I have always had this problem when trying to launch EA from VS during debug.  I just attach to EA after it has launched.  Then debug works fine.

Sebastian Mense

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory while debugging in Visual Studio
« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2017, 06:57:42 pm »
This error happens most of the time when we set up our developing
environment. The fix that works for us (Tested with Visual Studio 2015 and 2017)
is rather simple. You have to enable native code debugging in the start up project
(The project that will start EA.exe).



I hope this will help you.

Best Regards