Prev Next

Diagram Panel

The 'Diagram' panel provides a collection of tools for managing the use of diagrams and for manipulating the appearance and presentation of elements in a diagram.

Part of the Layout ribbon in Sparx Systems Enterprise Architect.

Available Facilities

To activate these facilities, open a diagram in the Diagram View. Some facilities are available even when a diagram is not open.

Facility

Description

See also

Save

Click on the icon to save changes to the current diagram.

Manage

Click on the drop-down arrow to display a list of options for managing the diagram's behavior.

  • Add to Working Set - add the diagram to a working set to open when you open the model
  • Compare to Baseline - compare the current diagram layout with the layout captured in a Baseline
  • Change Type - change the diagram type
  • Sequence Communication Messages - (in a Communication diagram) change the sequence of messages
  • Set as User Default - set the current diagram to automatically display when you open the model
  • Set as Model Default - set the current diagram to automatically display when any user opens the model
Working Sets Check Visual Changes to Diagrams Change Diagram Type Re-Order Messages Export a Profile Diagram Context Menu

Appearance

Click on the drop-down arrow to display a list of options for configuring the appearance of the current diagram.

  • Standard mode - defaults to selected to apply the normal rendition of the diagram; if the current diagram is in 'hand-drawn' or 'white board' mode, select this option to revert to normal display
  • Hand Drawn - display the current diagram in 'hand drawn' mode
  • White Board - display the current diagram in 'white board' mode
  • Set Visible Relationships - display the 'Set Visible Relations' dialog through which you select the relationship connectors to show or hide on the current diagram
  • Show Diagram Property Note - display the diagram property note on the current diagram
  • Theme & Appearance Options - set the theme and appearance options for all diagrams that you review, using the 'Diagram > Themes' page of the 'Preferences' dialog
  • Show Status Colors (All Diagrams) - display status colors on the status compartment or borders of all status-applied elements on all diagrams you review; deselect to display the elements with the default element fill and shadow colors
  • Configure Status Colors - set the status types and colors, using the 'Status' page of the 'General Types' dialog
  • Reset Local Element Colors - reset the fill, line and font colors of all elements on the selected diagram to the defaults, so that the rendering can use the previous color level (such as standard colors or stereotype colors)
  • Hide Page Borders (All Diagrams) - hide the printable-page border lines on all diagrams that you review; deselect the option to redisplay the borders (overridden by the 'Hide page borders (current diagram)' setting on the 'Diagram' page of the 'Diagram Properties' dialog)
Configure Diagram Display Diagram Theme Options Relationship Visibility Hand Drawn and Whiteboard Mode Status Types

Edit

Click on the drop-down arrow to display a list of options for selecting, copying and pasting elements on the current diagram.

  • Properties - set the diagram properties using the 'Diagram Properties' dialog
  • Select All Elements - select every element in the diagram
  • Select Elements by Type - specify an element type and - if appropriate - stereotype, and select all elements of that type in the diagram
  • Copy Selected Element(s) - copy all selected elements to the clipboard
  • Clear Current Selection - clear all selected elements in the diagram
  • Make All Elements Selectable - set all elements in the current diagram to Selectable, so that you can move them around the diagram and perform operations on them (make elements unselectable by right-clicking on them and clicking on the 'Unselectable' option)
  • Paste as Reference - paste elements from the clipboard into the diagram as links to the original elements (the elements being copied from a different diagram)
  • Paste as New - paste elements from the clipboard into the diagram as new elements; the 'Paste Elements as New' dialog displays, on which you change the names of the new elements
  • Paste Image as Element - paste a single image of the copied element(s) and any connectors between them from the clipboard into the current diagram; the image is enclosed within a System Boundary, and the element images cannot be selected or moved within the boundary
  • Autosize Selected Elements - returns the selected element(s) to the default size for the element type, or to the minimum size that can show the element contents; the resizing operates from the center of the element, so that you do not have to reorganize the diagram layout
System Boundary Properties Set Diagram Properties Paste Elements Autosize Elements Copy Elements Between Diagrams

Swimlanes

Click on this icon to divide the currently-open diagram into logical areas or partitions using the 'Swimlanes and Matrix' page of the 'Diagram Properties' window (an instance of the dockable 'Properties' window that reflects the properties of the currently selected modeling object).

Swimlanes

Roadmap

Click on this icon to convert the currently open diagram to a Roadmap with a timescale, using the 'Roadmap options' dialog.

Roadmap Diagrams

Persistent Zoom

This option provide a number of zoom settings that you can apply to your diagram:

  • 75%
  • 100%
  • 150%
  • 200%

When you select a zoom level, it persists when you close and re-open the diagram.

Notes

The 'Set as User Default' and 'Set as Model Default' options are available in the Corporate, Unified and Ultimate editions of Enterprise Architect; User Security must be enabled.)

The User Default diagram overrides the Model Default diagram; the User Default setting is itself overridden by a project shortcut, which defines displays to present on opening the project.

To cancel a User Default diagram, either:

  • Create a dummy diagram, set it as the User Default and delete it, or
  • Delete the original diagram (if it is no longer relevant)

This still blocks the Model Default diagram, whilst security is enabled; to re-establish the Model Default diagram, set it as the User Default.

Learn more