Author Topic: Use Case Extension Points vs. Generalization  (Read 4886 times)

ASP

• EA User
    • View Profile
Use Case Extension Points vs. Generalization
« on: June 20, 2007, 06:47:15 pm »
Hey, folks. I searched the forum but was unable to locate any thread that answered my question; so, here it goes.

First, I'm new to UML and EA, so bear with me. I'm working on a CD cataloging application, and I figured the project would provide me with a good opportunity to learn a subset of UML (I've eliminated any business process modeling, as this does not apply to this project).

First, here is an EA-related question as applies to extension points. I'll briefly describe the use cases I've defined.

The End User (an actor) needs to Add a CD (the use case) to the catalog. Adding a CD can be accomplished in one of three ways: manually, guided, automated.

Normally, one adds the CD details manually by completing some form. Optionally, the end user may wish to add the details via a wizard, which guides the user in the entry process. Regardless of which method of input is selected, there is another option that allows the end user to query an online music database in order to download CD details, hence automating the process as much as possible. However, this third approach is only presented once the end user chooses to enter information either manually or with the wizard.

I've added extension points to the "Add a CD" use case.

Use Case: Add a CD
Extension Points: Guided Entry, Automated Entry

Use Case: CD Input Wizard
Extension Point: Automated Entry

Use Case: Download CD Details from Online Music Database
Extension Points: n/a

The "CD Input Wizard" & "Download..." use cases extend "Add a CD", and the "Download..." use case additionally extends "CD Input Wizard".